Favourite Stranger

Following the runaway success of his sophomore release CLAIM, one-time bluesman turned millennial blue-eyed soul wunderkind Jesper Munk presents his breakthrough third album Favourite Stranger, along with lead single “Happy When I'm Blue” and striking preview track “Stranger”

Jesper Munk returns with Favourite Stranger, a new album that both cements his place as one of the brightest musical innovators in the German pop-rock milieu and will no doubt serve as a long-awaited introduction to an international audience. For Munk, the release of Favourite Stranger marks that rarest of moments for a young artist: a genuine creative breakthrough. Where both 2016's CLAIM and his 2013 debut For In My Way it Lies sought to pay homage to the blues masters that inspired him to pick up a guitar in the first place, as well as contemporaries such as the Black Keys and Gary Clark Jr, Favourite Stranger represents the outcome of his mission to rip it up and start again – and in so doing offers an intimate portrait of the artist as a young man, by turns more honest, vulnerable and exposed, and at the same time more musically outward-looking and authentic than anything else he has ever recorded.

Nowhere is this more apparent than in lead single “Happy When I'm Blue”. Demonstrating Munk's newfound talent for stripped-back white boy soul, it announces itself with an infectious string motif that immediately captures his new musical direction and the familiar quandary at the centre of the song – the point at which a young romantic realises that the joy and exhilaration of love, and the pain of heartbreak and longing are more or less indistinguishable. 'It's about being honest with yourself,' says Munk. 'Because in the end, for some people at least, there's a certain sense of melancholy that you kind of enjoy when you look back on it.'

And it is this theme that Munk builds upon, in song after song, throughout Favourite Stranger. Is it possible to be happy and blue at the same time? Or, what happens the day after all the late hours options have been exhausted? In this vein, preview track “Stranger” is the ideal prelude to the album. Showcasing both Munk's unmistakable vocals and his defiant new musical direction: the work of an artist with the confidence and purpose to bring together his roots with the disparate strands of contemporary R&B, soul and off-kilter pop. “Stranger” swims into the mind like some lost jam from Jeff Buckley's Sketches For My Sweetheart the Drunk, and stays there long enough for you to want to know exactly what happens next.

Favourite Stranger track list

1. Easier
2. Solitary
3. Happy When I'm Blue
4. Stranger
5. Icebreaker
6. Cruel Love
7. Deeper Into Care
8. Line
9. Slow Down
10. Joy

“Favourite Stranger” is available as CD, LP & Download as well as from all streaming platforms.

Newsletter

Subscribe for the Jesper Munk mailing list:

Yes, send me personalized updates and marketing messages from Warner Music about Jesper Munk based on my information, interests and online activities in accordance with the Privacy Policy . I understand that I can opt-out at any time by emailing at datenschutz@warnermusic.com

Thank you! In the next few minutes you will receive an e-mail from us asking you to confirm your e-mail address. If this message does not reach you, please check your spam folder.

Booking/Contakt

MANAGEMENT

edition enforcer
Sophie Raml
Westermühlstr. 21
80469 München
phone ++49 (0)89 20245706
E-MAIL

BOOKING

Neuland Concerts GmbH
Schulterblatt 58 / Maschinenhalle
20357 Hamburg
phone: +49 (0)40 189 87 67 0
E-MAIL

LABEL

Warner Music Germany
Kevin Segler
Alter Wandrahm 14
20457 Hamburg
phone: +49 (0)40 303390
email

Favourite Stranger

Vom einstigen Bluesman zur Stimme des White Boy Souls der Generation Y: Nach dem durchschlagenden Erfolg seines zweiten Albums „CLAIM“ präsentiert Jesper Munk sein drittes Album „Favourite Stranger“, angeführt von der Lead-Single „Happy When I'm Blue” und dem eindrucksvollen Vorboten „Stranger”

Jesper Munk kehrt mit Favourite Stranger zurück, einem neuen Album, das seinen Platz als einer der kraftvollsten Erneuerer im deutschen Pop-Rock-Metier festigen wird und zugleich seinen längst überfälligen Sprung in internationale Gefilde markiert. Für Munk vollzieht sich mit Favourite Stranger ein seltener Augenblick im Leben eines jungen Künstlers: ein wahrhaftiger kreativer Durchbruch. Waren CLAIM (2016) und das Debüt For In My Way it Lies (2013) eine Hommage an jene Blueslegenden, die ihn einst zum Gitarrenspiel brachten, und von zeitgenössischen Größen wie The Black Keys und Gary Clark Jr. inspiriert, so steht Favourite Stranger für eine gänzlich neue Mission: alles zerreißen, alles auf Anfang. Das Ergebnis ist das eindringliche Porträt eines jungen Mannes – ehrlicher, verletzlicher und nackter, zugleich musikalisch weltgewandter und authentischer als alles, was er jemals zuvor aufgenommen hat.

Nirgends wird dies besser deutlich als in seiner Lead-Single „Happy When I’m Blue“. Der Song demonstriert Munks Talent für zurückgenommenen White Boy Soul, das eingängige Streichermotiv fängt seine neue musikalische Ausrichtung ein. Im Zentrum des Songs steht ein altes Dilemma: der Punkt, an dem ein junger Liebender realisiert, dass die Freuden und Hochgefühle der Liebe sich kaum noch von den Schmerzen unterscheiden lassen, die Sehnsucht und Liebeskummer auslösen. „Es geht darum, ehrlich zu dir selbst zu sein“, sagt Munk. „Denn am Ende schwingt – zumindest für einige Leute – ein Gefühl von Melancholie mit, das man auf eine Art genießt, wenn man darauf zurückblickt.“

Dies ist das Grundthema, auf dem Munk über den Verlauf von Favourite Stranger aufbaut, Song für Song. Ist es möglich, zugleich froh und trübsinnig zu sein? Oder was passiert an dem Tag, wenn man die letzten Optionen am Ende langer Nächte verbraucht hat? In diesem Sinne bietet „Stranger“ einen idealen Ausblick aufs Album. Der Song stellt sowohl Munks unverwechselbare Stimme als auch seine trotzig eingeschlagene, neue musikalische Richtung in den Vordergrund: Die Arbeit eines Künstlers, der das Selbstvertrauen und die Überzeugung hat, seine Wurzeln mit den unterschiedlichen Strängen von zeitgenössischem R&B, Soul und Querdenker-Pop zu verquicken. „Stranger“ schwimmt einem in den Kopf wie ein verlorener Song aus Jeff Buckleys Sketches For My Sweetheart the Drunk und verharrt dort lang genug, dass man ganz genau wissen möchte, was als Nächstes passieren wird.

Favourite Stranger Tracklisting

1. Easier
2. Solitary
3. Happy When I'm Blue
4. Stranger
5. Icebreaker
6. Cruel Love
7. Deeper Into Care
8. Line
9. Slow Down
10. Joy

„Favourite Stranger“ ist als CD, LP & Download erhältlich sowie bei allen Streaming-Anbietern.

Newsletter

Newsletter

Melde dich hier für den Jesper Munk Newsletter an:

Ja, bitte sende mir individuelle Updates und Marketinginformationen von Warner Music über Jesper Munk, die auf meinen Informationen, Interessen und Onlineaktivitäten basieren gemäß der Datenschutzerklärung zu. Mir ist bekannt, dass ich mich jederzeit per Mail an datenschutz@warnermusic.com vom Newsletter abmelden kann.

Danke! In den nächsten Minuten bekommst du eine E-Mail von uns, in der wir dich bitten einmal deine E-Mail Adresse zu bestätigen. Sollte diese Nachricht dich nicht erreichen, dann checke doch bitte deinen Spam-Ordner.

Booking/Kontakt

MANAGEMENT

edition enforcer
Sophie Raml
Westermühlstr. 21
80469 München
phone ++49 (0)89 20245706
E-MAIL

BOOKING

Neuland Concerts GmbH
Schulterblatt 58 / Maschinenhalle
20357 Hamburg
phone: +49 (0)40 189 87 67 0
E-MAIL

LABEL

Warner Music Germany
Kevin Segler
Alter Wandrahm 14
20457 Hamburg
phone: +49 (0)40 303390
email